Hello from Montney, BC

Hello all,
My name’s Iain and I am fairly new to Pinfire ( and all the other Antique firearms as well ). I have been collecting Antique status firearms in British Columbia, Canada for roughly a year now and I am excited by pretty much everything in this hobby.
But it seems that there are so many aspects of the hobby to explore. One of those very interesting aspects is Pinfire firearms. I had only rarely heard or read about them before starting to collect Antiques and my only thought about them is that it was an evolutionary dead end in the history of firearms development.
But then one day I saw a very basic and inexpensive little Pinfire pocket revolver and I had to have it. It is a basic Belgian revolver in 7mm with a folding trigger. It’s cylinder says " The Guardian American Model Of 1878 ".
I tightened everything up in the tiny little gun and it seemed pretty decent mechanically so I decided I would shoot it. I ordered a couple of packages of 7mm Pinfire ammunition from H&C in France. I loaded them up with 3FG Goex and man was it a fun tiny little gun.
So now I’m interested in learning more about Pinfire. I’m interested in all the different makers and the different calibers. I am a history buff ( I think anybody interested in Antiques must be ) so what an enjoyable hobby.
One thing that I have seen is that Pinfires are certainly not common on the Canadian market. We have several excellent online Antique dealers but I’ve not seen more than a couple of Pinfires in a year. I guess I will have to figure out how to order from overseas and navigate the process to import my toys. Any help or advice from anybody here would be greatly appreciated.
Anyways, I just wanted to introduce myself and let everyone know that I will be learning from them and admiring their cool toys.
Cheers, Iain.

1 Like

Welcome! And maybe @oldgunscanada can give some pointers about getting pinfire guns into Canada.

Egon